New
Find
Notify
Tools

450 ackley magnum ?????
 Login/Join

<halfbreed>
posted
hello all, after reading about the 450 ackley mag, i am wondering if it is " IMPROVED" or just necked up. at 2400 fps with 500 gns, i was wondering if anybody has any experience with 400 gn hardcast. if so please share! i would like to learn more about this big bore. thanks halfbreed

------------------
overkill? how much more dead, is dead, than dead?

one of us
posted Hide Post
It actually looks like it has an improved shoulder, although not much of one. I haven't tried the hardcast in mine, so I don't know how they will work. I'm planning on it for practice, just have to get the right mold. - Dan

Posts: 5285 | Location: Alberta | Registered: 05 October 2001Reply With Quote
<halfbreed>
posted
dan, thanks to the quick response, i am interested in these big bores, however i have no experience with any of them. however i am planning on getting one built. i mostly plan on shooting cast. problem is which one? i have also thought about the 450 rigby, i would likle to be able to shoot long distance (paper) with these, also some big moose,etc at reasonable ranges. thanks again for the quick reply. halfbreed

------------------

one of us
Picture of D Humbarger
posted Hide Post
Halfbreed the .450 Ackley is as improved as you can get with that case.

------------------
NRA Life member

Posts: 8350 | Location: Jennings Louisiana, Arkansas by way of Alabama by way of South Carloina by way of County Antrim Irland by way of Lanarkshire Scotland. | Registered: 02 November 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Halfbreed, the other thing that comes to mind is that the 450 Ackley is about as big a case as you can easily fit in a long Rem or Win action. Once you go to 450 Rigby/Dakota etc, you really need a bigger (ie-CZ550 or magnum Mauser)action. I built mine on a P-14 Enfield, which has plenty of size (you can even go bigger) but needs a lot of work. I really like it though. FWIW - Dan