New
Find
Notify
Tools

Reloading 10 ga Shotgun
 Login/Join

Picture of Doktor D
posted
I'm new to reloading and i'm not asking for a tep by step explaination on how to do it. I just bought a Winchester 10 ga signal cannon that takes 10 ga blanks of any lenght. I want to get in reloading so I don't have the painful task of finding a source for these shells. I want to know what exactly I need tool wise to do this. I don't know what many of the tools are for, and I haven't seen much if any material out there on reloading shotgun blanks... I would appreciate any help at all.

P.S. I also have a winchester .308 and .22 I also plan on getting equipment for in the future.

one of us
Picture of Hog Killer
posted Hide Post
If you can find a used Mec Jr.,single stage press. That will work but is not needed to just make blanks.

The easiest way to male blanks for you signal cannon is to use Black powder and fiber wads.

First, trime off any part of the case used as a crimped closure. An open, straight case is what you want to work with.
Deprime fired plastic hull with a rod smaller in dia. than the primer.
Reprime, on a flat surface using a wooden dowel and a mallet, to tap case onto new primer.
Load 4dr. (110 grains) of Fg black powder.
Seat two 11ga fiber wads on top and either hot glue them in place or use Elmer white glue. Only a bead bead of glue is needed, on the wad and case. The hot glue is the quicker setting.

The glue bead will break loose when fired leaving a clean case wall for the next loading.

Have fun.

Hog Killer

IGNORE YOUR RIGHTS AND THEY'LL GO AWAY!!!
------------------------------------
We Band of Bubbas & STC Hunting Club, The Whomper Club

Posts: 4553 | Location: Walker Co.,Texas | Registered: 05 September 2003Reply With Quote
Picture of Doktor D
posted Hide Post