Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Need help! new to reloading
 Login/Join

posted
Im brand new to reloading and i just got a RCBS kit from cabelas and all the cleaning stuff and all the other goodies i need, i plan on reloading the 480 Ruger cartridge, I have all the reloading things i need to reload it I just dont really know the right steps to reload, I know i should have waited until i got some experience or read up on reloading before i bought everything but I just couldnt wait anymore, so any help is appreciated, Thanks,

Alex S.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Your RCBS Kit should have come with the Speer #13 Manual. Start at the beginning and read the how to's of reloading. Also read the instuctions that came with your press, dies, trimmer, calipers etc. It will take some time but, it is a must. Once you have read all that good stuff, read it again, then you should have a handle on how and where to start. Asking questions here is also a great place to get help. To get the most out of a forum post your questions should be pretty specific. There are a lot of very experienced and helpful guys on this forum and they have helped me a bunch. But, first you should read the info you have so you can better understand what to ask and more important being able to understand the terminoligy etc. you will get here.

Good Luck, and enjoy your new hobby (obsession).

Posts: 1205 | Location: Minnesota | Registered: 07 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
You're telling me that Cabelas don't sell load books anymore? Amazing!

Posts: 4799 | Location: Lehigh county, PA | Registered: 17 October 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of fredj338
posted Hide Post
What steve siad. There should also be some instuctions w/ your dies. Go to the RCBS web site, there is a short basic tutorial there.
1) inspect your cases, I chamfer the mouth inside & out.
2) full length size all cases
3) bell the case mouth enough to start a bullet
4) prime all cases