New
Find
Notify
Tools

.243 Win Flame
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I shot my 243 with 24" bbl and my reloads for the first time today it was overcast weather.I was surprised to see flame from the end of bbl. My reloads use 40 gr H335 and 58 gr V max and Fed Primer in Win brasswhich was shown as close to "begin with".

I reload and shoot several small bores and never noticed any flame at all. Comments please.Thanks. berylh

One of Us
posted Hide Post
That flame is powder burning outside the barrel that did not burn inside the barrel. Basically wasted powder. However, there are some powders that give off more muzzle flash than others. If you have a chronograph you could back off a grain or two and see if it has any effect on the accuracy or velocity...if not you are saving powder. I am not an expert so perhaps someone else has a different opinion.

Posts: 4115 | Location: Pa. | Registered: 21 April 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Powder burns, not explodes, and it continues to burn to maintain pressure as long as possible, until after the bullet exits. That's why the flash exists and powder constinues to burn until the pressure drops. If there were no flash you can be sure the load is so light you wouldn't get much velocity either.

Posts: 1615 | Location: South Western North Carolina | Registered: 16 September 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
berylh -

Using the same boolit in my 24" bbl, I had the same experience using starting loads of Varget and CCI-BR2 primers in Fed. brass.

I switched to IMR 4895 (faster burning) and am now approaching 4000 fps with no flash or signs of excessive pressure.

Not sure, offhand, where your powder burn rate lies in relation to these two...?

One of Us
Picture of seafire2
posted Hide Post
Well if you have ever shot a rifle at night with H 335 in it, you will see a fireball that makes you think you just launched a Tomahawk Missle...