New
Find
Notify
Tools

Hornady LNL for .40S&W-Help!
 Login/Join

posted
Guys,

I'm brand new to reloading so please bare with me on this long email. I bought a Hornady LNL AP to reload for my handguns. The primary use will be for .40 S&W in an M&P pistol. I will also use it for .38 special and .357 in a revolver.

For equipment here's what I have coming; Nitride die sets, taper crimp die for the .40, shell plates, through the powder drop expander, powder cop, RCBS 505 scale, bullet puller, Hornady tumbler, RCBS media separator, and some misc. items. I have 3 reloading manuals, Hornady, Lyman and Lee for cross reference.

Here's some of my questions. How do you handle the primers on a progressive press? I figure I will tumble the cases with the spent primers in since they don't get removed until the sizing operation. Since it's a progressive, what about cleaning the primer pockets? I would have to pull out each case after the sizing/de-prime station and before the primer gets seated to clean, which defeats the purpose of the progressive press. I guess I could de-prime as a separate operation first and then tumble, but that seems cumbersome as well. What's the best way to handle cleaning primer pockets?

I'm also confused about case trimming. It isn't really addressed for handguns like it is for rifles. Do the handgun cases need to be trimmed? I bought the extra taper crimp die for the .40 since I understand it seats on the mouth and you don't want to use a roll crimp like what comes with the bullet seating die. As a side, why do they even set up the .40 bullet seating die with a roll instead of taper anyway? I guess to sell a separate taper crimp die.....Anyway, does the sizing die take care of the overall length or do you need to trim? I assume if the cases are different lengths you would get variation in the crimp. Not good I assume. I bought the through the powder drop expander to have a station available for both the powder cop and the taper die.