New
Find
Notify
Tools

Neck or FL dies
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Need help...I have been reloading rifle ammo for about two years and have always used FL dies to deprime and resize my ammo. Lately I have began to reconsider this deciscion and have started to consider picking up neck sizing dies in .22-250, .243, and .270.
If I understand correctly this change would reduce unecessary wear on brass. Eliminate my need to lube cases, and restrict use of ammo to my rifle only since cases will be fireformed to my guns chamber. I am correct in this thinking? Are there any negatives to neck sizing?

Posts: 262 | Registered: 20 September 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
You will still need to FL size your brass occassionally. I have several neck sizing dies and have gradually had to acquire FL dies. Bottom line is don't sell your Fl dies.
Peter.

Be without fear in the face of your enemies. Be brave and upright, that God may love thee. Speak the truth always, even if it leads to your death. Safeguard the helpless and do no wrong;

Posts: 10515 | Location: Jacksonville, Florida | Registered: 09 January 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I think you only need the FL die.

Just PFLR in between FL resizing. You'll get better accuracy if you only size 1/2 the neck.

I have a Redding 3 die set for my 264 Win Mag and really don't use the neck die anymore...

One of Us
posted Hide Post
i've always bought full length dies and just backed them off to neck size. if you do any buying of once fired stuff it's almost mandated to be able to full length the case first, so you might as well just get the full length set right away.
the only negative to just necking them would be if you shoot the same cases in more than one rifle, but i don't think most of the guys on here do that and i see that you plan on not doing it as well.

Posts: 415 | Location: no-central wisconsin | Registered: 21 October 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post