New
Find
Notify
Tools

Desireable powders for AR15
 Login/Join

<MOA>
posted
I'm just getting started loading for my new Kreiger barreled AR and want to get some insight into what powders work well for this caliber and rifle. I heard Varget was good, can someone suggest a couple different powders for me to begin development with. Also, is it okay to only neck size with the AR?

one of us
Picture of redial
posted Hide Post
First off, neck sizing only in a military pattern semi is just begging for an out-of-battery explosion. A KA-BOOM in an aluminum gun will do you no good at all. Full-length only for function or for safety if nothing else. Two-two-three brass is dirt cheap anyway.

Happily, the 223/M16 marriage works acceptably well with just about any suitable combination. I use 3031 for mollied lighter bullets and something in the Varget/2520/4895/4064 neighborhood for heavier pills. There are a zillion usable recipes. This is great for lazy people like me but will drive the experimenter insane, eventually.

Have fun shooting it!

Redial

Posts: 1121 | Location: Florence, MT USA | Registered: 30 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
winchester 748 works great and leaves little fouling. 3031 is my second favorite but velocities are a bit slower. My AR is a 16 inch carbine and shoots into an inch at a hundred yards.

Posts: 2899 | Registered: 24 November 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Krieger, huh? Are you shooting Highpower matches? If so, you may want to try Varget, Re15, H4895 (not IMR), maybe N135 or N540. If you are as lazy as me, just dump some Varget in it and go shoot. That Krieger ought to shoot well with it. Why Varget? It's cheap(er), meters well out of rotary measures, and is very temperature stable. It works great with everything from 52s up to 80s.
Sometime I'm going to try some Re15 because I don't have that nice of a barrel.

one of us
posted Hide Post