New
Find
Notify
Tools

Why are the .458 Lott dies So Cheap ??
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I priced my favourite bradn RCBS $198.00 and CH4 $98 then Hornady $26.00.

I have never used Hornady dies before how do they stack up ??

Posts: 7505 | Location: Australia | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
they are excellent dies. RCBS is so expensive because they were probably made before Hornady started making the ammunition. therefore, they are custom dies. i bought a set a year before Hornady started making the ammo and i paid close to $200 for the set. really bad timing.

Posts: 466 | Location: Oklahoma | Registered: 20 December 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
PC,
I'll second the Hornady 458 Lott dies, they are excellent. I was quoted just over $400 for RCBS dies about a year ago from ProCal and planned to keep making do with 458 WM dies; until I saw the price of the Hornady unit. I've only used mine once and they were as good as anything else I have. Another Hornady item that is good value is their basic Magnum brass, much cheaper than Bertram or Bell/Mast and easier more convenient than blowing out 375H&H cases.
Cheers...
Con

Posts: 2198 | Location: Australia | Registered: 24 August 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Con,

I won't say I have these dies until there in my hands. I have placed an order I will have to see if it gets here. Cabelas would not send dies because there restricted. So far so good with Grafs & Sons.

Where did you order your Hornady Basic brass from ??

one of us
posted Hide Post
i got my brass from Huntington's. 530-534-1210

[ 07-27-2003, 13:55: Message edited by: bill smith ]

Posts: 466 | Location: Oklahoma | Registered: 20 December 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
PC,