Find
Notify
Tools

'nother new guy, more questions.
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Steel Slinger
posted
I am still in my first year of reloading. I mainly load for my .270 Win, and my brother's 7mm Rem Mag. I have spent days on end reading manuals and books on reloading (had lotsa time... just got back from Iraq). I have come up with a couple of questions that I'm not really getting from the books.

What is the story on nickel plated cases? Before I started reloading, I was shooting the WW Supreme factory ammo, and have a lot of cases left, so does my brother. Some manuals say it's ok to use the nickel plated, and list the reasons... less corrosion etc. Then other ones say don't do it b/c the nickel will flake off and ruin dies. Who's right? Is it ok to use them?

Second, what would be a good process to go about finding the most accurate loadings for a particular gun? There seem to be so many combinations of powder/bullets/primers/powder weight/seating depth/etc etc etc that it is a little overwhelming for me. Where is a good starting point, and how do I find the best finished product?

Also just any other tips for a new guy would be really helpful.

FiSTers... Running is useless.

Posts: 315 | Location: Fayetteville, Arkansas | Registered: 01 July 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
HI steel slinger,
about the nickel plated cases, I'll leave that to someone else cause i've never tried them other than to say if you have enough brass saved up a $25 set of rcbs dies dedicated to just the nickel pl. brass is not that hard.
and if they are flaking don't use em... Cool
The second question is the 42,000$ qeustion Big Grin, the answer is, THAT is the fun of reloading, what powder, primer, seating depth will work best for my gun or need?