Find
Notify
Tools

Re: reloaded .30-06
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of fredj338
posted
Unless your friend worked up the load for YOUR rifle, I would pass. Just because they are safe in his doesn't mean they will be in yours. One bad reload can ruin your rifle &/or injure you. Get a good manual, do a bit of reading, ask a bunch of questions, buy some quality gear (under $300 to get you going) & have @ it. If you shoot alot, you'll make up the cost of the gear.

Posts: 7752 | Location: kalif.,usa | Registered: 08 March 2001Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
I have never tried reloading or shooting reloads before, but was told I could be more accurate with precission loaded shells.
I asked a buddy if he could relaod some 30-06 for my new Remington 700 ADL. He assured me that he had reloaded for his 30-06 with nice accurate preformance.
The shells I got from him are hard to close my bolt on, and he says that he shot them in his Browning, and they will (fit) my Remington after they are fired from this gun.
My question is; Is it safe to force the bolt shut on these shells and fire them? We ran some marker on the outside of the bullets and that showed the shells hit at the base of the neck part of the shell casing. I can close the bolt but it is very stiff. I just don't want to try this if it would be considered unsafe. PS.I can't bring myself to fire these shells on just the reloaders word, can you give opinions?

One of Us
Picture of hunting1
posted Hide Post
Don't use them unless they have full length resized. They are probally tight because after they fire and he neck sizes them it is a custom fit to his chamber. My $.02

Posts: 90 | Location: Albuquerque, NM | Registered: 02 January 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Shade,