Find
Notify
Tools

Novice rifle reloader question
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of M4Finny
posted
Hello everyone. I appreciate the great deal of knowledge on these forums. I'm a new member and new to reloading the .270 Win cartridge. As a caveat, I have primarily reloaded for handgun and for .223/5.56 mm for my AR. I have about five years experience in general reloading.

I am ready to begin reloading for my .270 Win and have my recipe and all the particular components. I have completed my case preps and will begin working up some test loads. Specifics: Nosler 130 gr BT Spitz., IMR 4895 (using powder loads beginning at 42.0 to 46.0 max). All cases are new brass and have been trimmed to same length. When I first fired my rifle, I used factory ammunition and was very pleased with the grouping even though their casing length and C.O.L. measurements varied (pre-measured before firing factory). My question is simple. I am leaning toward using the average C.O.L. taken from my pre-fired measurements (3.255) for my hand loads because the factory ammunition used the same bullet mentioned above and it functioned very well. Am I thinking this through too much? Or, am I on the correct path with regard to establishing my C.O.L.? Thanks, hope it doesn't sound too silly.

Psalm 109:8 "Let his days be few; And let another take his office."

Posts: 31 | Location: Michigan | Registered: 03 November 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Do you know how to measure your rifles chamber ?. Are loads for hunting or paper punching for ultimate accuracy ?.

Knowing the dimensions of your rifles particular chamber is extremely helpful as well as your absolute

OAL of the magazine well . Setting up cartridges longer than will feed is counter productive .

Knowing just how long you can make a cartridge OAL before it seats in the lands is paramount .

Some like it .005 -.020 off the lands , opinions vary !. archer