Find
Notify
Tools

500 NE reloading assistance
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Guys,

I have a 500 NE on order with (Butch) Searcy and being a reloader I ran out and bought a bunch of Huntingtons brass, CH4D dies, etc.

I'm new to reloading stuff of this size so I figured I'd ask the guys that know about this and who could give me a little guidance on a couple of issues I've discovered with this big hummer.

How in the heck do you guys prime these large cases? I use a (Forster) Coax press and they have that priming "thingy" on the top of the frame that (sorta) works but it tends to mangle the case rims. What do you guys use?

A related question, I currently use a Forster case trimmer but it's gonna be too small for these big guys. Do the cases last long enough to need to be trimmed? Do I need to get the 50BMG trimmer? As the 500 NE rim is pretty thin will the bigger Forster work here? are there other options?

Thanks for your time.

Roi

Posts: 626 | Location: The soggy side of Washington State | Registered: 13 July 2003Reply With Quote
Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
For the 500 NE (doesn't matter what length)

1: get an RCBS SUPREME press.... 108 and shipping from midwayusa

2: what DIES are you using .. get the CH4D and RCSB (RS/RC 3 threads)

3: get a RCBS hand primer and the right shell holders...

for expensive brass, i NEVER would use a press mounted primer... in fact, I haven't used that type of POS since i first got a decent priming tool. I love the APS benchmount

Start with 38 special (or any other CHEAP brass you have to shoot) and reload, ALOT... and work at it, ALOT... and read about filler (search in big bores on "double filler") ALOT

Your brass will be about 3 bucks, each... that get's to be steep

best of luck

jeffe

Posts: 39557 | Location: Conroe, TX | Registered: 01 June 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Quote:

For the 500 NE (doesn't matter what length)

1: get an RCBS SUPREME press.... 108 and shipping from midwayusa