New
Find
Notify
Tools

Reducing ES.
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Hi all, I'm fairly new to reloading, and just tested a .308 load that I came up with using the "ladder method". It's a 175gn MK with 41.4 gns of RL15. I tested 10 loads and got an ES of 64. I FL resized and trimmed and chamfered the necks. I'm using CCI BR-2 primers. What should I pay most attention to next if I want to reduce my ES?

Posts: 207 | Location: Sacramento, CA, USA | Registered: 15 February 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Hello savageshooter,
I got the tip of sorting the brass by weight.
I mainly use Norma brass and the weight difference in 7x57 Mauser is about 2 grains.

I have no idea if this will help but if the difference is located in the wall thickness it should improve your ES by sorting by weight.

As a rule, I find the most consistent vel when the powder is slightly compressed.

Others on this board have far more experience than I, and they will surely provide more tips.

All the best

Jens

Posts: 57 | Location: Stockholm, Sweden | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Forgot to mention that I was using BlackHills match brass, but didn't do any sorting. I'm wondering if attention to cleaning the inside of the neck and neck thickness is the key. I don't know where all the case prep items stand on the scale of most to least importance.

Posts: 207 | Location: Sacramento, CA, USA | Registered: 15 February 2002Reply With Quote
<green 788>
posted
Very unconventional approach, but here it goes...

Don't use a chronograph for load development. It isn't necessary, and can be quite distracting.

If the Audette method played out properly, your load should be a good one.

Forget the chronograph for the moment and see if the load passes the "OCW" test. That's "optimal charge weight," I call it. My website link is in my signature line, where I explain it better.