Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Competition Dies and Shell holders
 Login/Join

posted
I have been reading as much on this site as possible over the past several months and I thank all of you who share your knowledge with guys like me. I am just beginning to order all of my reloading equipment and have a question. I have decided that I will be using the RCBS Competition dies. Will I also need the RCBS competition shell holders? If so, is it because the competition shell holder is taller and offers more overall die adjustment? Thanks for your help.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Why do you think the RCBS Competition Dies are your best choice? I think they are vastly overpriced and not in the same performance catagory as my Forster Competion/Micrometer dies.

The only set of RCBS Competition dies I've seen were a copy of the obselete Vickerman seaters in which there is a side window to place the bullet while seating. That's convienent I'm sure but the bullet guide sleeve only sets around the case neck and doesn't support or align the lower case body at all.

Posts: 1615 | Location: South Western North Carolina | Registered: 16 September 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
The competition RCBS die comes with the shellholder and most are taller/smaller in diameter than regular shell holders to work with the sleeved seater die....the Redding competition shell holder sets are of different thicknesses to adjust the sizing of the case.....and could be used for the sizing of the case and switched out for seating.....hth..good luck and good shooting-loading!!

bigdaddytacp

Posts: 687 | Location: Jackson/Tenn/Madison | Registered: 07 March 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Loading the bullet in from the side of the die is priceless

Once you've used that style of die you can't go back...

If you can afford the competetion dies go for it, just
remember that there are many cartridges for which
they simply aren't available.

AD