New
Find
Notify
Tools

Loads for .25/.06 Ackley Improved?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Just got my newly built rifle back from the gunsmith. It is Chambered in 25/06 Ackley improved on a remington 700 action with a 27"shilen barrel. I am relatively new to reloading and would appreciate some advice on loads for whitetails. Have heard a lot of good stuff about 115 gr. Nosler partitions and IMR 4831, reloader 22, and other powders.Could someone help me out PLEASE!?

Posts: 71 | Location: Ocean Isle Beach NC | Registered: 28 August 2001Reply With Quote
<Bruce Gordon>
posted
Having never done a 25-06 Ack. Imp. before I cannot directly comment on a specific load, but on the 40 degree shoulder Ack. Imp. rounds in general you can use the max. listed load for the parent case as a starting point and then work up from there. The max load for 120 grain bullets is listed in the Alliant pamphlet as being 52.5 grains of Reloader 22, and personally I would start off with 50 grains and work up a grain at a time until the primers start getting flattened to the same degree as factory loads. The only thing to be careful when watching primers is if you get some soft primers which will show flattening at much lower pressures. My favorite primers are the Federal Match primers. If you think the flattened primers are giving bogus results, you can always try several brands to see if they all show the same degree of flattening.
If the rifle likes Reloader 22 for accuracy, it has been the best I have ever used for consistency. In my 22-250 Ack. Imp. I can get 1" groups at 600 yards using reloader 22, and everything else I have tried does worse. Of course, I haven't tried every powder on the market, but with the results I don't feel the need to.