Find
Notify
Tools

OK, I'm A NEW Reloader!
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Aspen Hill Adventures
posted
And I've got a question and I am sure many more will follow. I'm sure many of you guys will be able to help me understand.

Now that I am about to get into reloading I wonder....What is all the fuss about bullet speed?

You have to be gentle with me! I am a beginner. As an archer I have paid some attention to the speed of my arrows but know they are no match for bullets. That is because all of my ammo has been store bought.

With archery I have never had game "jump" my string yet I know the arrow is standing still in speed in relation to a bullet. So why the fuss to push bullets so fast? I've never shot at game further than the 280 to 300 yard range with a firearm. Does it affect the shock imparted on the game?

My calibers for reloading include my 30.06 and more importantly my .300 Win Mag and even more importantly my .375 H&H.

Any help in understanding the importance, if there is any with bullet speed will be greatly appreciated.

------------------
~Ann
Orion Trophy Expeditions

Posts: 19248 | Location: The LOST Nation | Registered: 27 March 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Nitroman
posted Hide Post
It is NOT "bullet speed", it is VELOCITY!

I just couldn't resist

If they go very fast the trajectory is flatter, hence much less guesstimation if you are at a somewhat extended range. Also the bullet hits a bit harder. Then again there is the "guy thing", i.e., bragging rights. Mine is faster than yours and all that garbage.

John Taylor wrote some very interesting books regarding cartridges and he talks a bit about velocity. I have never had the disease myself since all the rifles I own would be considered slow but hit like a freight train.

------------------

Posts: 1844 | Location: Southwest Alaska | Registered: 28 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Dutch
posted Hide Post