New
Find
Notify
Tools

Adjusting 550B shellplate
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I've been reloading for many years, but mostly pistol cartridges like .45 ACP and .44 Mag.

I have added .30-06 Sprg and .243 Win to the list, and things were going fairly well until I noticed slight variations in cartridge headspace length with the Wilson gauges.

It turned out to be the shellplate. This has to be square during the stroke. If it isn't adjusted near "almost too tight to turn", it can walk a little on the ram, and this will affect cartridge headspace length (makes it larger.)

This may be obvious to most, but it caught me by surprise so I thought I'd share it.

(As .45 ACP, .30-06 Sprg and .243 Win all use the same shellplate, I could simplify my life if I just didn't have any .44 Mag... Smiler )

.30-06 Springfield: 100 yrs + and still going strong

Posts: 29 | Location: Pacific NW | Registered: 06 October 2007Reply With Quote
Picture of Burgie
posted Hide Post
Hi if this happened to me I would send this same e-mail to dillon and see what they say.

I only load pistol and .223 on my 550b so I have no ideas for you.

Let us know what they say if you have time.

Thanks...........burgie

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I sent an email to Dillon, asking if this problem had been reported by others. I will definitely post their answer.

The instruction manual does say to tighten the center bolt until the shellplate won't move, then back it off a little. Apparently I was backing it off too much.

If you have any visible "rocking" of the shellplate when you press on opposite sides with your fingers, you are probably going to see more variation in cartridge headspace length than you should. The press is capable of doing better, if the shellplate is adjusted so there isn't any slop.

While the effects aren't noticeable in pistol calibers, they are in bottleneck, so you might see this in your .223 loading.

One of Us
posted Hide Post