Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

221 Fireball Die sets
 Login/Join

posted
New here, and need a little info on loading for the 221 fireball. I am about to buy a CZ 527 in 221 fireball and plan to load for it. I have a press and reloading stuff but it is all RCBS brand. I just went to the RCBS site and found NO reference to a die set for this caliber.

What options do I have. I have seen folks discussing reloading this caliber, and in fact, if one wants to shoot much of this, reloading is pretty much a must. Hate the idea of shooting factory... even for other rifle calibers.

Do I need to completely change press set up to find a press that will hold dies for this caliber?

Thanks, for any help.... I am not experienced in recent times with loading. Did a lot of it back in the 80's and 90's for 243 and 7mm08.

LongPlay

Posts: 12 | Location: Deep East Texas | Registered: 11 January 2012Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Redding #84101, shellholder #10

3 die set.

no reason it wont work in RCBS, I use it a lee press.

You will really like hunting bobcats with the fireball, a real fur frienldy round.

Also, even though I enjoyed making some reloads, I actually hunted with remington factory ammo. Seems I tended to shoot up all my reloads at the range. It was pretty darn accurate.

posted Hide Post
Thanks Blacklands... I am especially interested in fur friendly rounds. I do not really plan to use it for that purpose, but as a squirrel shooter, I have always wanted to down load the centerfire 22 caliber to around 22Mag velocity.

I tried it with the 222 Remington but it did not work due to the twist being too slow to work on the 55gr FMJ bullets at low speeds.

Posts: 12 | Location: Deep East Texas | Registered: 11 January 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Kevin Rohrer
posted Hide Post
Hornady also make dies for this caliber. I like their sleeved bullet seater.

Member:
Orange Gunsite Family, NRA--Life, Varmint Hunters' Assn., ARTCA, and American Legion.