New
Find
Notify
Tools

Annealing???
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I see people talk about annealing their brass, but never when, why or how. As I am new to reloading, could someone fill me in on this process [Confused]

Posts: 61 | Location: Stockholm, N.J., USA | Registered: 10 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Brass "work hardens". It is a particular problem with wildcats, that have had the neck sized up or down, although it can and does show up on ordinary reloads. The idea is to heat the neck/shoulder area -without heating the head- to restore the natural flexiblilty of the brass. Probably the most common method is to stand the cases in a plate of water covered the head area, heating with a propane torch and tipping them over when done. I'm sure there are many other methods.

Posts: 432 | Location: Baytown, TX | Registered: 07 November 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Bud, Pedestal pretty well covered it but I'll fill in some details. Annealing is not something a beginning reloader is likely to need, but it can be real useful later on.

My method is to use a mild flame on a propane torch in a darkened room. I hold the case head in my fingers and revolve the case mouth in the flame. You can see a color change as the brass heats. When the color line has moved down over the case shoulder, I drop the case in a bucket of water. Because I revolve the case, I heat both sides of the neck evenly. I'll never overheat the head, because I would burn my fingers first.

I have a batch of new Remington brass that needs annealing now. The necks are too hard to expand and give a gas seal with cast bullet pressures. That probably would not be a problem for someone shooting full house loads, but might show up as neck splits in a couple of firings.