New
Find
Notify
Tools

Too much muzzle velocity in my rifle ?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Went to the range yesterday. Did a little shooting and cronographing.
It was 76 degrees, overcast and no wind,little humidity, down right plesant for Mo.
I chronograped a load, imr4350/85 grn speer, that I had been shooting for 30 yrs in several rifles + my A bolt medallion with a 22" bbl. (never did this before)
What a suprise, I was expecting about 3250 which most of the manuals call for in 24"bbls.
In my rifle I got an average of 3351 for 3 five shot groups ! No bolt lift or extraction problems, no case streching etc or primer flow or extractor marks. Accuracy was very good.
I can't find any manual that lists that hig a vel for this load in a 22 bbl .243 Am I playing with danger here or should I drop back a little ?
Also chronograpked som Win. Western 30-06 150 power points out of my 20" Bar carbine , got 2830 about what I expected.
Then I tried my 88 win..308 with 49 grns of 748 and 150 PPonts. It has a 22" bbl. and I clocked an honest 2903 ! yes ir has a little longer bbl. but it outdoes my 30-06
Bar ! Whats going on here ? or do I have a bum cronograph !

Posts: 367 | Location: Farmington, Mo | Registered: 07 July 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
358 - You sound like a guy complaining that he has too much money in the bank. I don't see anything in the numbers you supplied to worry about. Run the test again, if you like. Possibly your chrony needs a little tweeking but you may end up making matters worse. I wouldn't take what any chrono says as the word of God. Just assume you've got some good loads put together and go with it.

Posts: 19677 | Location: New Mexico | Registered: 23 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of 243winxb
posted Hide Post