Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

.223 Dies & Accessories
 Login/Join

posted
I'm planning to load .223 Rem, but I have no experience with bottleneck cartridges. I've been loading for pistol and revolver for several years and have presses, a beam scale, a digital scale, a powder thrower, digital caliper, and four loading manuals. The .223 will be used at the range, primarily, but not in competition. I'm a technical type, and I do try to get the best precision I can when I handload. I'm thinking about getting the Lee 3-die set and an L.E. Wilson trimmer. I'm starting from scratch on rifle. What would you recommend?

Posts: 1 | Location: NW Arkansas / Central Louisiana | Registered: 27 December 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I like my Wilson trimmer so much -I bought another. They don't need pilots, but do require a case holder. For small batch work they're about the best thing since sliced bread.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
For precision loading, you want either a Redding competition or Forster seating die; RCBS also has a couple of models that are gaining favor. These seaters all have a sleeve that encapsulates the bullet and case neck for improved bullet alignment. The Redding body die is preferable to a standard full-length sizing die if you are neck-sizing. Whether you neck-size with a bushing die or the Lee collet die is your choice.

The Wilson trimmer is a preferred piece.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Like the two (very) smart guys directly above said.

I generally FL resize wuith my Forster or Redding S dies, but that is simply personal preference/laziness.

LD

Posts: 7158 | Location: Snake River | Registered: 02 February 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
If you are reloading for an AR---I suggest you get narrow based dies--RCBS has them. I had a kaboom---bad deal.

one of us
posted Hide Post
John,
A standard 2 die set from RCBS or Redding will do all that is necessary for loading the 223Rem.