Find
Notify
Tools

Need 300 Weatherby Magnum Loads
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm in need of advice.
A friend of mine has a 300 Weatherby Magnum that he quit shooting a few years ago due to the heavy recoil of factory loaded ammo. He was shooting 180 grain bullet ammo. He doesn't reload.
Yesterday I suggested to him that we could down load some ammo so he could start using the rifle again. His 300 has been sitting in a closet collecting dust. He said, sure, let's try it. I suggested initially that we try some 165 grain hunting bullets, at minimum powder charges and let him shoot the rifle to check out recoil. He hunts Deer, Black Bear, and Elk.
I have zero experience with the 300 Weatherby, so if someone could recommend powder and bullet combinations that would reduce the recoil, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks,

Don

One of Us
Picture of Heat
posted Hide Post
One load I have seen was using H4350 and 165 grain bullets. The starting load was 75.5 grains at a velocity of 3100. That's a minimum load and not a reduced load. You might look through you favorite manuals and find whichever powder they used at minimum that went the slowest with the least amount of powder. The IMR/Hodgden data center has a pretty good listing of loads starting down in the high 50s for the 165 grain bullets.

Ken....

"The trouble with our liberal friends is not that they are ignorant, but that they know so much that isn't so. " - Ronald Reagan

Posts: 5386 | Location: Phoenix Arizona | Registered: 16 May 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I don't have any load data for 165 gr. bullets in .300 Wby because mine (Win Mod 70) wouldn't stabilize the 165 gr bullets. With 180's it's a tack-driver.

I shared that just in case you had accuracy issues.

Jon Larsson - Hunter - Shooter - Reloader - Mostly in that order...Wink

Posts: 682 | Location: Western Montana | Registered: 24 February 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thnk you both for the info. I appreciate it.