Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

45gap brass for 45 acp reloading
 Login/Join

posted
I am new to reloading, and it seems to be a very short supply of 45 acp bulk brass, and after looking at several sights I have seen that thee 45 gap seems to be more available and rated for higher pressure to boot only marginally shorter. What do you think, and do you know what the effective minimum COAL length is for 45 acp? I have seen max #'s, but no minimums. If it helps, I am reloading for a Kimber ultra compact 3"

One of Us
posted Hide Post
The OAL I've always used for 45 ACP is 1.230.

I've never heard of anyone loading 45 GAP to shoot in a 45 ACP.

I don't even know it a 45 GAP will chamber in a gun chambered for 45 ACP.

I do some research and come back.

Hack

Posts: 103 | Location: Columbus, Georgia | Registered: 08 April 2008Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
thanks for taking a look, i look forward to hearing back from you on your results

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Okay, I'm back. Most of the things I found were just comparing 45GAP to 45ACP, but I did find one that said , no, do not shoot a 45 GAP in a gun chambered for 45 ACP.

Here's the source that said no to shooting GAP in ACP platform.
http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Is_i...a_gun_made_for_45acp

--------------------------------------------

I would not shoot a 45 GAP in my Springfield 1911 A1 (chambered for 45 ACP)

-------------------------------------------

I also found out that the OAL of a 45 GAP is 1/10 less than a 45 ACP (the source said 1.130, which is 1/10 less than the 45 ACP's 1.230).

The range of OAL for the 45 ACP was given to be 1.200 to 1.250, but like I said, I only use 1.230.

The source for the above info is:
http://www.thefiringline.com/f...ex.php?t-190780.html

-------------------------------------------

Hack

Posts: 103 | Location: Columbus, Georgia | Registered: 08 April 2008Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
can anyone give some input to this, it seems to say that headspace is irrelevant on a 45 acp