Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Questions for you veteran reloaders
 Login/Join

posted
I'm new to reloading and have some specific questions for you veteran reloaders:

Current Set-Up:
Dillon RL550b reloader
Reloading .45 ACP using Dillon carbide pistol dies
Hodgedon TiteGroup powder @ 4.5 gn.
Ranier 230 gn. HP bullets
CCI large pistol primers
Starline cases (new)

1) If I use a .45 ACP case gauge how important is O.A.L? The reason I ask is that I’ve recently purchased Ranier 230 gn. HP bullets. I didn’t find a recipe in my Lyman’s or Hornady manual so I went on-line with Hodgden. Their website recommended an O.A.L. of 1.200 inches. The O.A.L. I’m getting is about 1.188 inches. I think these bullets are “softer” and may be seating deeper, but not sure, I haven’t adjusted my seating die since changing to this bullet (perhaps I should!). Visually the seating depth looks ok.
2) This leads to another question…let’s say I find a recipe that uses the same weight bullet but a different shape or different brand bullet. Can I use that recipe? How critical is the shape or brand of the bullet (e.g., HP, flat nose, round nose, etc.) to the recipe if the weight is identical?
3) I haven’t yet tried adjusting the decapping die, but the bullet case is hitting the lip on the bottom of the die on the downstroke. I have to jimmy it a little for the case to fit inside the die. It’s not off by much but didn’t know if anyone had any ideas for better alignment? None of the other dies are doing this.
4) Can I leave powder in the powder hopper if I plan to only reload one caliber or should I put it back into the bottle after every session? Will it absorb moisture if I leave it in the hopper?

Thanks for your help,
Tim

Tim
Semper fi
xNRA pistol & shotgun instructor

One of Us
Picture of ted thorn
posted Hide Post
I will address #1 and #4

#1 You have to adjust the seating die each time you change bullets

#4 I wouldn't leave powder in the throw but that's just me