New
Find
Notify
Tools

max imr 4350 30/06 question.
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Guys I've been reloading for about eight years and have always found it interesting to
notice the difference in maximum powder charges between various reloading manuals.
Recently Ive been working up a 180grain partition gold load for my Rem. 700 titanium with
a 22 inch barrel. The powder that groups best for my rifle is IMR 4350. Three of the manuals
that i use show the maximum load of this powder to be between 55 and 56 grains. I found
a load in the A-square reloading manual that goes as high as 60 grains. I've tried this load
and get 2800 fps from a 22 inch barrel and groups around 1 inch, with no signs of excessive
pressure (sticky bolt, cratered primer, scarred cartridge headstamps). My question is: should
I be concerned that I am using a load that is up to 5 grains more than several reloading
manuals list.

Posts: 32 | Location: georgia usa | Registered: 01 May 2002Reply With Quote
<eldeguello>
posted
Not necessarily. Five grains more seems to be a lot, but ALL RIFLES ARE INDIVIDUALS, and yours seems able to accept such an increase. The best guide to safe loads is repeated loadings with the same brass with no damage to the cases. (Forget the micrometer B.S.) If you can reload those cases and fire them, let's say ten times, and the primer pockets are STILL TIGHT after ten reloadings, I would say the load is OK in your rifle!! But, it might take your buddy's gun apart!! So keep them out of other folks' hands!! [Big Grin]

<green 788>
posted
Keep in mind too that there are a lot of antique 30-06's out there that the publishers of load data need to consider. With a rifle of recent (last 40 years or so) manufacture, you'll be able to tolerate more pressure than an old 03A3 could.

IMR 4350 is an excellent powder for the 30-06.

Dan Newberry
green 788

<JimF>
posted
HWH: