New
Find
Notify
Tools

Nosler Par. vs Barnes X
 Login/Join

<8mman>
posted
Any one have experiences with either of these bullets? accuracy, effectivness on game, etc. I need to chose one to start reloading for my 8mm-06 but I have no experience with either. thanks

one of us
Picture of HunterJim
posted Hide Post
8mman,

The Nosler is the "standard against which all other game bullets are judged", at least a bizmillion gun writers have written that! The work fine, and are the threshhold of the premium bullet. Expect them to retain perhaps 85% at best. Generally they work, and the animal dies.

You could also begin with the Hornady Interlock Spire Point or the Speer Grand Slam. They all three work about the same for me.

I would start with lead cored bullets as you learn reloading, and save the Barnes X and other monometal bullets for later.

jim

------------------
"if you are to busy to
hunt, you are too busy."

Posts: 4166 | Location: San Diego, CA USA | Registered: 14 November 2001Reply With Quote
<Big Foot 15-4E>
posted
The beauty of nosler Partitions are thay will work at velocities between 3000 down to 1600fps. Thay are more than suitable for ANY game animal in the U.S.. Thay most likely have accounted for more big game animals than any other premium bullet. Thay will work on everything from mice to moose. The key is to use the right weight bullet/caliber combo for the spacific game animal. In other words, dont expect a 140 grain .270 Partiton to preform like a 225 grain .338wm on a poor shot angle on game the size of Elk, and then blame the Bullet when it fails to kill the game quickly.
Regardless of what type of bullet you use, shot placement is everything.

one of us
Picture of ricciardelli
posted Hide Post
Why pay twice as much for half as many bullets? Go Sierra...

But of the thwo you listed, Nosler is your better choice.

Posts: 3282 | Location: Saint Marie, Montana | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I prefer the Nosler.