Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Problems with .240 weatherby magnum
 Login/Join

posted
I have a Vanguard S2 in .240 cal. when reloading my rounds seem to chamber to tight. I have been loading for over 30 years, i have reset my dies and checked casings. Everything looks alright but still hard to chamber,an i know thats not correct. looking for other advice or someone that has experinced the same problem

Posts: 1 | Location: california | Registered: 21 November 2013Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
Welcome

Is this a new issue?

First thing I would do is coat a loaded case with black magic marker and see where the case or bullet is contacting. After that is known then better advice can be given.

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I built a Ruger 1 in 6.5 x 300 Wby several years ago. I made my cases by necking down 300 Wby brass. Evidenyly I was not consistent in the necking down process. All chambered and shot but when I neck sized them, Some would chamber fine and others would not. Perplexed the hell out of me for a while. I came to the conclusion that I had somehow buldged the case body just to the rear of the shoulder or pushed the double radioused shouldd too hard or had a poorly cut die. Ordered a new die from a different maker and fixed the problem. Good luck w/ yours.

Posts: 1991 | Location: Sinton, TX | Registered: 16 June 2013Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
"Reset my dies" should mean that it is touching the shell holder. Hard. I like the press to cam over a bit if I want max sizing to occur. Make sure you have that or your brass might end up too long at the shoulder to chamber, which is your problem. Only other thing is that your bullets are seated too long, which is unlikely in a Wby.

Posts: 17275 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Rapidrob