New
Find
Notify
Tools

which has more relevance to accuracy?
 Login/Join

Picture of mphfreak
posted
Im fairly new to reloading rifle calibres and struggling with COAL against powder charge. which has more to do with accuracy? should i seat the bullets far out as i can which the magazine allows me and adjust powder charge or keep powder charge the same and adjust COAL? I have tried both of my manuals suggestions with no accuracy at all.
Please and thank you from a new member.

270 win
308 win
7mm mag
257 weatherby

Posts: 10 | Location: Northern Alberta, canada | Registered: 06 February 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Don't struggle. OAL is NOT a big issue for beginners. Either seat according to the book OR your magazine length OR to the crimp grove and develop your charge for best grouping. Then go have fun.

Later, you may want to move towards the lands in maybe 5 or 10 thou steps to find what your rifle actually likes FOR THAT LOAD. Loud claims to the contrary, seating close to the lands in a factory hunting rifle using common bulk bullets is rarely a help for accuracy.

Posts: 1615 | Location: South Western North Carolina | Registered: 16 September 2005Reply With Quote
Picture of mphfreak
posted Hide Post
Thanks Jim for your reply. im gonna try 4 sets of 4 cartridges with same Coal and 1 grain increments today.

270 win
308 win
7mm mag
257 weatherby

Posts: 10 | Location: Northern Alberta, canada | Registered: 06 February 2011Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Agree with Jim C. here. In addition, I might suggest that you begin load workup using the "Accurate Powder" and powder charge in the manual you're referencing. I usually begin there when starting out on a new, to me, caliber/cartridge.
Good luck & enjoy.
Bear in Fairbanks

Unless you're the lead dog, the scenery never changes.

I never thought that I'd live to see a President worse than Jimmy Carter. Well, I have.

Gun control means using two hands.