Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

To crimp or not to crimp
 Login/Join

posted
Hello all, this is my attempt at an introduction, along with a request for some help. Have been reading here a few weeks but haven't seen this come up.
I am new to reloading. I bought a book (ABCs of Reloading) and read it cover to cover. I've tried to pick up what I can on some Internet forums. I bought a Lee LoadMaster progressive press with .308 dies and some 7.62 NATO pulldown bullets online, and primers and powder locally. After reading for a while I felt confident enough to whip up 50 or so rounds with the 147 grain FMJ bullets (with cannelure) and slightly more than minimum load of Ramshot TAC and IMR 8208 powders. They grouped no worse than the NATO ammo I've been shooting up until now with my FNAR, and the cases showed no unusual signs. So far so good.

I bought a bunch of Sierra Match King 168 grain bullets (with no cannelure) and I know that I can't put a mouth crimp on smooth jacketed bullets. Since my FNAR is an autoloader, I'm a little leary of bullets getting pushed back in the cases and a resulting kaboom from the resulting insufficient volume. My die set came with a factory crimp die, but other than in the Lee instructions for setting up the dies, I can find no mention of its proper use.

So my question is, do the cases need a good factory crimp in the absence of a mouth crimp as in the case of non-cannelured bullets? How do I determine what is a sufficient factory crimp? What is the likelihood of the bullet pushing back in the case if a bulet is just seated in a case that has been properly resized/expanded? Am I correct that it is not uncommon to seat bullets with the least amount of interference in the case for use in competition, or in a non-autofeeding rifle, for better accuracy?

Still trying to wrap my head around all this without blowing my a$$ up.

Thanks in advance for anyone willing to help a novice out.

Joe

one of us
posted Hide Post