Find
Notify
Tools

30-06 Small Base Die
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of thecanadian
posted
I was reloading some 30-06 this morning and I realized that my sizer die is a small base die! The box that it came in says that it should be a regular FL sizer die so this is obviously a mix-up from the factory. The problem that I have now is the rifles that i have been reloading for are all bolt action. RCBS warns against using them in this application. I have been using these dies now for over 2 years without incident. I also dont FL size with the die, I back out the die enough that it sizes the neck without bumping back the shoulder. My dilemma is whether or not I should contact RCBS about the issue and get the reg die that I ordered. Sort of goes back the the old saying 'if it ain't broke don't fix it,' so to speak.

"though the will of the majority is in all cases to prevail, that will to be rightful must be reasonable; that the minority possess their equal rights, which equal law must protect, and to violate would be oppression."

---Thomas Jefferson

Posts: 1090 | Location: Eau Claire, WI | Registered: 20 January 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Grumulkin
posted Hide Post
What, pray tell, is RCBS' warning about using small base dies for bolt action reloading? I would use them for that without worry.

Posts: 2911 | Location: Ohio, U.S.A. | Registered: 31 March 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
The "small base" would only come into play if you were running the cases all the way into the die (bumping the die hard against the shellholder). As it is, you are simply neck sizing (or partially full length sizing, depending on how deep you go with the case into the die.) If you are not setting back the shoulder, then it is irrelevant how small the base is if it doesn't get a chance to squeeze the case.