THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    Lapua Brass question--neck stretching marks on annealed brass

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Lapua Brass question--neck stretching marks on annealed brass
 Login/Join

posted
Hello. Great board--I am learning a lot reading your threads. I am brand new at reloading and recently purchased some Lapua 30.06 brass after reading the fantastic reviews. True to the reviews this brass is set to trim-to length (2.484") right out of the box. My trouble came when I ran them through the full-length RCBS sizing dies (some then needed a slight trim). The necks have visible stretch marks on them that you can feel if you run your fingernail along them. I'm not sure if this is because Lapua brass comes annealed or not. My Winchester 30.06 brass never does this. Hopefully my pictures attach properly. If not, I'll post a reply to this and get them attached. What you're seeing here is never-fired brass. My questions are: 1. Have any of you seen this and know what it is?, and 2 Is it safe to fire this? Thank you in advance.
Joe

P.S. I don't have permission to post pics so I'll have to send to the administrator and ask if they'll post them or find a way to link you to them. Sorry

One of Us
posted Hide Post
You don't need permission to post pictures. But you really aren't posting pictures, just links to them, which if properly done causes the picture to load for someone viewing the thread. Do you have the pics stored or hosted somewhere?

LWD

Posts: 2104 | Location: Fort Worth, Texas | Registered: 16 April 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of BNagel
posted Hide Post

Posts: 4862 | Location: Bryan, Texas | Registered: 12 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of 243winxb
posted Hide Post