New
Find
Notify
Tools

black powder question.
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Im new in to reloading, bought a little bit but havent done anything new. My stuff so far is all smokless powder stuff. Do you need special equipment to reload black powder ammo. I really want a sharps and probably want to reload the ammo.

one of us
Picture of Hog Killer
posted Hide Post
There are some "extras" that are handy for loading match grade BP. Things like a drop tube, over powder cards, powder compresion die, SPG (or sim) Bullet lube, etc.. Your press and standard type reloading dies are like you are using for smokeless. Do a search for loading manuals for BP loads. Mike Venterino(sp) wrote an easy to find book on this subject.

Keith

IGNORE YOUR RIGHTS AND THEY'LL GO AWAY!!!
------------------------------------
We Band of Bubbas & STC Hunting Club, The Whomper Club

Posts: 4553 | Location: Walker Co.,Texas | Registered: 05 September 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Im going to try and find a book to read up on this some. Where do you guys buy your supplies?
Im looking at and weighing my options of a 45-70 and 45-110. I have a partner press will that be good enough?
Have i read somewhere that people use substitute powders in there loads instead of black powder?

one of us
posted Hide Post
Danny -
I've loaded for BP cartridge for a few years maybe I can provide some tips. 1st, Buffalo Arms is a good source of supplies for BP shooting. The guys there are all BP shooters & very helpful with any questions you may have. Sorry, don't have a contact phone #.