New
Find
Notify
Tools

250 Savage AI Loads
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I just got a 250 Sav AI, and I'm in need of load information.
If anyone has one, or knows of loads for that chambering, I would appreciate learning them. I'm starting off with some 75 grain bullets because I have them on the shelf, but any bullet weight info you have would be great.

Thanks,

Don

Picture of Mark
posted Hide Post
Do you know what the twist of the barrel is? That will help determine what weight bullet to try, which can then help point to a powder range.

I have no experience with a 250, AI or not, but that is how I approach wildcat loads.

for every hour in front of the computer you should have 3 hours outside

Posts: 7774 | Location: Between 2 rivers, Middle USA | Registered: 19 August 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Mark:
Do you know what the twist of the barrel is? That will help determine what weight bullet to try, which can then help point to a powder range.

I have no experience with a 250, AI or not, but that is how I approach wildcat loads.

Mark,

Thanks.
It's a 1-10 twist (Shilen CM) barrel.

Don

one of us
Picture of Jim White
posted Hide Post
DMB, There's all kinds of info in the 5th edition Sierra manual. Jim

99% of the democrats give the rest a bad name.

"O" = zero

NRA life member

Posts: 730 | Location: Prescott, AZ | Registered: 07 February 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Jim,

Thanks. I appreciate the lead.
I'll get a copy. My Sierra Loading Manual is an old one.

Take care,

Don

One of Us
Picture of El Deguello
posted Hide Post
P.O. Ackley regarded this cartridge as perhaps the best of his creations. "This is one of the best of the so-called 'improved' cartridges. It shows a greater percentage of increase in velocity than almost any other."