Find
Notify
Tools

Dumb question: what is moly?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Kory
posted
I'm rather new to reloading and I read about people using moly on their bullets. What exactly is it and what does it do? Do you just soak the bullets in it before reloading?

Regards,
Kory

Posts: 860 | Location: Montana | Registered: 16 August 2004Reply With Quote
Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
Kory,
it's powder molybdium(sp)...

you apply it, if you were so inclined (i am not anymore) by pouring some of the moly dust into a clean (purpose use only) tumbler bowl and put the bullets ONLY in for a few minutes.. the moly impregnants the surface of the bullets, and reaches a uniform color... others can give you rules of thumb, i am jsut teelling you what it is.

the purpose is to reduce bore friction, which CAN result in lower pressure for the same load
and can allow you to burn more powder, getting a higher MV, perhaps...

it requires, generally, that your bore be "coated" that is to say, have about 20 rounds through it before the groups settle down....

some folks swear it improves groups, and some folks swear wearing boxers gaurranty that your wife will conceive a boy...

i played with it a bit, don't care for the extra hassle, and don't use it.

give it a try, see how it works for you
jeffe

Posts: 39691 | Location: Conroe, TX | Registered: 01 June 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post