Find
Notify
Tools

How many necks sizes before cracks?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Dutch
posted
Just wondering. I just started shooting a 223, and neck sizing reduces the neck 10/1000'ths each time. Anyone dare hazard a guess as to how many resizings it will take before I get cracks? I've never had a chamber this sloppy before.......

Any 223 brass with thicker necks than military or Win?

TIA, Dutch.

Posts: 4564 | Location: Idaho Falls, ID, USA | Registered: 21 September 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Dutch:
Just wondering. I just started shooting a 223, and neck sizing reduces the neck 10/1000'ths each time. Anyone dare hazard a guess as to how many resizings it will take before I get cracks? I've never had a chamber this sloppy before.......

Any 223 brass with thicker necks than military or Win?

TIA, Dutch.

I wouldn't want to hazzard a guess with the variances in lots of brass but it sounds like you need to get set to anneal the necks after 3 or maybe 4 loadings and this will take care of the split neck problem before it starts and keep the necks flexable to hold the bullets consistantly and extend the life of the brass......good luck and good shooting!!!

Posts: 687 | Location: Jackson/Tenn/Madison | Registered: 07 March 2001Reply With Quote
<Don Martin29>
posted
On "Steve's Loading Pages" there is information on that subject.

one of us
Picture of Bob338
posted Hide Post
Dutch~
Same for me. Just started messing with one. I had two cracks in the very first firing while forming!

I got both R-P and WW brass. Most necks cleaned about .0105". With a sloppy chamber of .015" I'm not sure it's even worth turning to clean those necks. The brass is to cheap to worry about it. But what do you do for accuracy in the meantime? I'll also be interested in any suggestions.

Posts: 1261 | Location: Placerville, CA, US of A | Registered: 07 January 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of hivelosity
posted Hide Post