New
Find
Notify
Tools

Sobering Article
 Login/Join

one of us
posted Hide Post
I am an engineer, and while I am working while working on technical problems, I am used to a certain standard of rational thought.

Gun magazines don't address us as engineers, but consumers, to buy, use, and think of guns as we are told.

Most gun magazine articles have no useful information and if they have a comparative test, they often have out of control variables.

The book " Rifle Accuracy Facts" by Vaughn writes, " Consequently, the only way that this is thing [accuracy for sporters] is going to get done is for someone to do it on an amateur basis (no pay).. [I] decided to take a shot at it."

Forums on line are mostly lower in content than the gun magazines. Intelligence like I read on this forum is rare.

Posts: 2249 | Registered: 27 February 2001Reply With Quote
<Martindog>
posted
bobby2sticks/clark,

RJ used saami test barrels with saami spec chambers and saami control ammunition to establish the offset for his strain guage. Do you doubt his results? What are the flaws in his protocol for this test?

I don't necessarily disagree with the notion that gun rags first goal in life is anything other than keep selling the gun rags, but to paint the entire industry with such a broad brush refuses to acknowledge meaningful work the few times when it's actually written up. While I don't think RJ walks on water, in this case he wrote up a good piece that was verifiable by instrumentation. Why rag on the guy?

Martindog

<Axel>
posted
Clark, pressure IS THE MOST IMPORTANT parameter. Pressure determines the working forces and resulting stresses placed upon the action.

Cumulative fatigue of metals DOES NOT begin at and above the YIELD point. You need to go back to your textbook and study ENDURANCE LIMIT. Cumulative fatigue initiates when the endurance limit is reached / surpassed! You will learn that the endurance limit of steel is FAR FAR below the YIELD POINT.