New
Find
Notify
Tools

375 H&H 250-270 gn for 300 yds
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am going to South Africa hunting for plains game, with Cape Kudu topping the list. The terrain there on the concession often requires long shots.

I was planning on taking my 375 H&H 300 grain Silvertips and still may.

Nearly all of the vendors are out of stock, no back order of 250-270 grain 375 offerings.

I see 260 grain Nosler Partitions available. I have had great luck with 180 gn Partitions in my 30-06, but many people claim Partitons are just not that accurate; shooting 300 yards, I am going to need a good grouper. I guess I should just buy a box and try them, but it is not like they are $10.00 a box to be doing much experimenting with.

I have no experience with Barnes, but the TSX 270 grain offering is available.

My third choice is Sierra 250 grain GameKings. The truth be told this should probably be what I go with. It is hard to beat a quality made cup and core bullet for accuracy! Currently out of stock/no BO

270 grain Swift A Frame. I never used but similar in theory to Nosler Partition.

I am open to suggestions, but please don't recommend something that is not available and who knows when it will be. I do have five months so go ahead I guess.

PA Bear Hunter, NRA Benefactor

Posts: 1621 | Location: Potter County, Pennsylvania | Registered: 22 June 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Try the 270 TSX. That's what I used in Namibia in '07.

Zebra at 150
Gemsbok at 400
Kudu at 250

Yes it's cocked, and it has bullets too!!!

Posts: 582 | Location: Apache Junction, AZ | Registered: 08 August 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm loading 235 gr Extended Range Raptors from Cutting Edge Bullets. They are proving to be very accurate.

Use enough gun...
Shoot 'till it's dead, especially if it bites.

Posts: 898 | Location: Southlake, Tx | Registered: 30 June 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post