New
Find
Notify
Tools

Advice on fireforming 338-06AI Brass?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I could use some advice on fireforming, if you would be so kind as to offer some. I am having a 338-06 40-degree Ackley Improved rifle built, but have not yet received the rifle. I have no experience with Ackley Improved cartridges or wildcats of any kind. I will be initially preparing the brass by starting with .35 Whelen brass, partially full-length sizing it to neck it down to .338. For proper headspacing of the cartridge at this initial fireforming stage, I plan to leave a small "step" at the very base of the neck, just big enough to create a crush fit when I insert a case in the rifle and close the bolt on the case. (I want to use this method rather than the method of seating the bullet out so far that it is jammed into the lands. Jamming the bullet into the lands makes me a little nervous, in firing a new rifle as to which I have no idea about pressures.) I can use 200-grain Nosler Ballistic Tips for fireforming. Can any of you give me advice about what powder and how much of it I should use, for this initial fireforming? I want to use a load that will fully form the brass; but please keep in mind that I have not fired this new rifle before, and do not yet know anything about what loads would be safe in it.

Thanks,
BigBrass

[ 01-02-2003, 02:51: Message edited by: BigBrass ]

Posts: 189 | Location: San Jose, CA | Registered: 02 January 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I had tried 35 Whelen brass with the same idea you have, but found that a good number of cases ended with a collapsed neck while running them through the sizer. I've pretty much stuck to 06 cases since then. The smith who made my rifle has it set up so that it has a crush fit even with unformed brass so seating bullets into the lands isn't necessary.