Find
Notify
Tools

Reloading Room Lighting
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of reverenddan
posted
As I am closing in on the construction of my new reloading room at my newly adopted digs I have a question.

In my last reloading room (wish I had some pics for the thread) I had florescent lighting. After the lighting was installed I acquired a digital scale. I was never pleased with the digital scale although it was from a reputable manufacturer and of good quality.

Just before I moved someone told me that florescent lighting is not good for digital scales as there is some type of interference; true or false?

Since I am constructing the new reloading shack from scratch I have the opportunity to install lighting of my choice. I am a professional remodeler (when I have to be) so there isn't a worry about any of it being difficult.

Suggestions please.

Most people are bothered by those portions of Scripture they do not understand, it is the passages I do understand that bother me. (Twain)

Posts: 203 | Location: Missouruh | Registered: 01 October 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
i use a couple of 8' VHO fixtures and have no trouble with digital stuff

Posts: 13462 | Location: faribault mn | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Flourescent lighting interferes with light sensitive equipment. I doubt digital scales are light sensitive. It is the rapid flickering that is the culprit. That is why you need special lights for indoor chronographing. I am no engineer, but this is what I have learned and believe.

PA Bear Hunter, NRA Benefactor

Posts: 1621 | Location: Potter County, Pennsylvania | Registered: 22 June 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of reverenddan
posted Hide Post
butch explain "VHO" please.

Most people are bothered by those portions of Scripture they do not understand, it is the passages I do understand that bother me. (Twain)

One of Us
posted Hide Post