New
Find
Notify
Tools

.300 WSM....again!
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
OK HELP!!!!! Anybody have a good load using the 180 SMK in a .300 WSM. I've beat my head trying to come up with a good load, I'm talking about 100 rounds, but I'm just not there! Multiple powders, multiple bullet weights, finally decided on the 180 so that's what I want to stick with, but I just cant seem to find a load this rifle likes! HELP!!!!

Sarge

I was a soldier * I am a soldier * I will always be a soldier
SFC,US Army, Retired
NRA Life
www.snipercountry.com

Posts: 60 | Location: Southern Area 51 | Registered: 27 December 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Reloader
posted Hide Post
Every rifle is different. My 300WSM likes R22 the best w/ 180s. H4831 falls in as a close second. I use 66.5 grains of R22 for 2940fps from a 24" tube (Win Brass and WLR primers). This is a fairly quick barrel, you may not get that speed w/ the same charge.

Good luck

Reloader

Posts: 4146 | Location: North Louisiana | Registered: 18 February 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
300 mags are notorious for liking either 180 grain bullets OR both 165's and 200's. Don't ask me why, it just happens...seen it happen a hundred times. You may have one that prefers 165's and 200's....try some known accuracy loads with those bullet weights and also get that rifle bedded properly (assuming it is currently new "out of the box") and see what happens.

Good luck!

Posts: 373 | Location: Leesburg, GA | Registered: 22 October 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Jay Gorski
posted Hide Post
Sarge, Didn't you try the load I told you about last time you asked? 67grs. RE22, WLR primer? 68-70grs. H4831sc may work as well. Jay

Posts: 1745 | Location: WI. | Registered: 19 May 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post