Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Which Reloader For A Total Newby To Reloading
 Login/Join

posted
I plan on purchasing a Weatherby Vanguard 300WSM this fall when they are available. I am also interested in purchasing a reloader for the 300WSM ammo to ease on shooting costs. I really don't know squat about high powered rifle rounds or reloading, so I am asking for HELP!
Which reloader would be best for my needs, and what all do I need to purchase to get started?
Thanks in advance!!!

one of us
posted Hide Post
The best way to start reloading is to buy a kit. It will have a press, manual, powder measure and scale, and all the other basic stuff. You buy the dies and shell holder extra.

I've used my RCBS press for about 30 years and its a good brand.

Lee products are good and cost a little less but I'll stick with RCBS.

Read the manual carefully several times and follow it faithfully and you'll do fine.

As time goes on you'll want to get stuff like a micrometer. powder trickler, brass polisher and so on but a kit is always the best way to start.

Posts: 345 | Location: Dauphin Island, Alabama, USA | Registered: 01 July 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Most of what you will need will be found in one of the starter kits. My personal recogmendation would be the "Rockchucker" by RCBS. A 6" dial caliper, dies & shellholder would round out the needed equipment.
Reloading manuals from the maker of the bullets you plan to use, plus those from the powder manfactures, gives you proven data to start with (along with some good general information). The RCBS kit comes with the Lyman manual, I believe.

Posts: 2124 | Location: Whittemore, MI, USA | Registered: 07 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post