New
Find
Notify
Tools

Powder recommendations
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm still fairly new to reloading and I've been loading only handgun loads. I've been loading both .44 magnum and .357 magnum. I have used Unique powder for all of my loads so far, which has been working out pretty nicely for my target loads. But even when I push it near the maximum level they still don't have near the recoil and blast that full power factory loads have. I have a few boxes of Winchester factory loads for both calibers and they have alot more punch than my Unique loads. I'm looking for advice on a powder that will give me similar power levels without going overboard. I don't want to break my wrists, but lets face it...its fun blasting off some full power rounds every now and then.
I buy my reloading supplies locally so my selection of powders is limited to three brands unless I order from somewhere else and pay the hazmat charges. I can buy Alliant, Hodgdon, and IMR powders locally. The three choices I was considering are Alliant 2400, Hodgdon H-110, and IMR 4227 but I'm open to any other suggestions. I want to load for both calibers. I just want something that will give me about the same power levels as full power factory ammo without going on the extreme end where they become unpleasant to shoot. I would prefer a powder from one of these three companies.

Posts: 192 | Registered: 05 September 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
W296 and Lil'Gun tend to give the best high-end performance with Mag pistol cartridges. For the 357, I like W296 - that is, 14.7 grs.W296 with 180 gr. Nosler Partitions and 15.5 grs. of Lil'Gun with the same bullet. Don't know much about the 44 Mag, but I also load 454 Casull and 500 S&W, and Lil'Gun or W296 are the powders of choice for hunting loads. You can easily equal Cor Bon loads with these powders.

One of Us
posted Hide Post