Find
Notify
Tools

Powder Measure's
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of JBabcock
posted
Which one do you like, and how accurate are they?

one of us
posted Hide Post
I've been useing a Lyman 55 for over 30 years now. It's really good to + - 1/10 Gr. Last month I bought a new Lyman DPS 1200 Electronic Powder Dispenser, and it's really nice. It's slower than useing a measure, but your weighing every charge. Plus it's fun to play with. Bill T.

Posts: 1540 | Location: Glendale, Arizona | Registered: 27 December 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Ricochet
posted Hide Post
The only one I've got is an RCBS Uniflow. It gets the job done. Accuracy of any powder measure will depend on the powder being used. Coarser ones will always have more inconsistency when measured volumetrically. I have problems with coarse grained tubular powders and large flake shotgun powders bridging in the dump tube, even with the larger one. Some of the low density flake powders are hard to get to settle consistently in the cavity of the rotor, too. And at the very smallest charge levels for little pistol cartridges, the rotor will squish flakes in the corner of the space between the plunger in the cavity and the shell, molding plastic double base powders into a hard clump. For these kinds of powders, a simple dipper like Lee's really works better.

Posts: 1325 | Location: Bristol, Tennessee, USA | Registered: 24 December 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Jay Gorski
posted Hide Post
My Hornady Deluxe powder measure is +or- 1/10 of a grain, tested just last week with Benchmark powder, of course larger kernal powders will more than likely be 'off' a bit more, that's to be expected with any of them, even a Harrel, which is no more accurate than a Hornady, Lyman, etc. Jay

Posts: 1745 | Location: WI. | Registered: 19 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have a few, but I like the RCBS uniflow.