New
Find
Notify
Tools

Reloading bench: Craftsman vs. Kennedy KenCraft
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Anyone have any recommendations for a bench? I know that there are cheaper ways to go, but I would really like to get a quality, fairly heavy duty bench. I am new to reloading myself, but I have my Rockchucker Supreme Master Kit and am anxious to get started. While the KenCraft seems perfect, some of the Craftsman workbenches are similar and cheaper. The only obvious nod goes to the KenCraft for the solid wood top, as opposed to the MDF of the Craftsmans. Anyone have any experience with either of these benches? Is MDF a strong enough mounting platform for a press and accessories?

Posts: 120 | Location: New Hampshire | Registered: 13 January 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of muskrat
posted Hide Post
I think the wood top is the way to go. A lot depends on what caliber you will be reloading? How much stress is going to be put on the press and benchtop? My bench top is made out of 2" by 12"'s and I still had 1/4 steel plate 8" by 24" cut for both the top and bottom, which I then drilled and bolted together every 6". not the whole top but just where the press is mounted to prevent flexing of any kind.But I also reload 50 caliber BMG and it takes a lot to hold it still.This may not be needed but I felt better about it, so did it this way.Just MHO
muskrat
live to shoot-shoot to live!

Posts: 287 | Location: central ohio | Registered: 05 January 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post

why not get the craftsman bench and replace the top with some 1" plywood? my reloading platform started out life as a piece of flat counter top. it was made of thick plywood instead of that glitboard crap though. it makes a nice sturdy reloading surface and it has that formica counter surface that is easy to keep clean.

THE 2ND AMENDMENT PROTECTS US ALL......

one of us
posted Hide Post
Thanks for your opinions, guys...