Notify
Tools

Flash hole uniforming
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Last winter I bought a Lyman flash hole uniforming tool from Midway:
http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/showproduct?s...id=729748&t=11082005
I'm prepping some new cases and have them all trimmed to the same length, but I've never used this tool before. The instructions say to insert the cutter until it protrudes through the flash hole. I've tried several cases and on all of them the flash hole isn't large enough for the cutter tip to pass through. I was under the impression that uniforming just removes the burrs on the inside of the case left over from punching the holes. Is this tool supposed to cut the hole larger as well? The only way that cutter tip is going through the flash hole is if it enlarges it. I just want to make sure I'm doing it right before I ruin a batch of new cases.

Posts: 192 | Registered: 05 September 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Wink
posted Hide Post
The first obvious thing to check is to make sure you have a "large" uniformer for large primers and a "small" uniformer for small primers, and hope they didn't get mixed up at the factory. I use the same tool and sometimes a case will have a relatively tight opening at the beginning but I have never felt like it was doing anything more than just smoothing things out. If it feels like you are reboring a new primer flash hole then something is probably wrong.

AR, where the hopeless, hysterical hypochondriacs of history become the nattering nabobs of negativisim.

Posts: 7046 | Location: Rambouillet, France | Registered: 25 June 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of bartsche
posted Hide Post
Roll EyesTry it on a few loads and see what happens. Maybe it's a good thing. coffeeroger

Old age is a high price to pay for maturity!!! Some never pay and some pay and never reap the reward. Wisdom comes with age! Sometimes age comes alone..