Find
Notify
Tools

9.3x74R or 9.3X72R questions?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of cold
posted
Ok guys a few (maybe not so quick) questions...IM new to reloading so I hope this isnt going to bore you guys...

First off, if I could have a gun in either caliber, which one of the 2 above mentioned would I want and why? Is there any discrenable pros and cons between the two?

Im currently looking into them but would love input which is on topic and beneficial for discussion (not some post saying "why would you want either...")

Secondly, which would be easier to reload, is brass an issue, dies etc?

Finally, is it a viable DG round or would a more proven round like 375 HH be a better choice etc ( know bigger is a better idea, but IS either 9.3 round even viable)?
I know in Tanzania its illegal but is that so for all of DG in Africa or is the provincial like all other things?

Thanks in advance for any info !

Posts: 221 | Location: SEC | Registered: 15 October 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Andre Mertens
posted Hide Post
The 9,3x72R is an obsolete and underpowered ctg. (BP ?) that was meant for hunting Roedeer. There's no comparison with the 9,3x74R in terms of power.

André
DRSS
---------

3 shots do not make a group, they show a point of aim or impact.
5 shots are a group.

Posts: 2420 | Location: Belgium | Registered: 25 August 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
cold
Do a search on my previous posts on the 9,3x74R. I have taken a lot of game with it including some big wild pigs, 2 black bear, African plains game, a giraffe, buffalo and a cow elephant.
As a hunting cartridge I consider it the field equivalent of the 375 H&H.
However as you have stated, all African countries do not. You have to draw the line somewhere.

For buff and elephant I would prefer a 40 cal as a minium.