Find
Notify
Tools

75 Gr. Horndy A-Max seat depth in AR-15
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Alberta Canuck
posted
Right up front, I have VERY little experience with AR-15s...a fair amount with other Stoner designs, but little with this one,

BACKGROUND

I have a 1-in-9" twist Bushmaster UltraMatch which doesn't shoot worth sour apples with light (55 gr., and below) bullets. Several "Distinguished Marksman" friends have told me that is common with 1-9 twist barrels, to try 69 gr., 75 gr., and 80 gr. bullets.

So, I want to try the 75 gr. A-Max bullets Otto Weber supplied to me.

When I try to seat them deep enough to feed through the mag, the end of the case is already up beyond the start of the bullet-nose ogive. Looks kinda bad, but looks aren't my concern. Concern is that the bulk of the bullet is actually deep back into the powder space of the cartridge case.

Usually in the rifles I am familiar with, that is a formula for excessive pressures unless loads are greatly reduced.

With bullets seated out so the start of the boat-tail is still contained in the case neck, the bullet still does not reach the end of the chamber throat, so seated-out bullets will be my first effort for determing whether this particular AR will perform with useable accuracy. Even if they shoot well seated out, that will still leave a couple of questions....

THE QUESTIONS

1. Are the Hornady 75 gr. A-Max bullets intended for use only in slow-fire, where they need not be seated deeply enough to feed through the mag?

2. If seated deep enough to feed through the mag, what is a typical powder charge weight with, say, AA-2460 (WC-846)?

ANY help/advice will be very welcome.

AC

Posts: 9685 | Location: Cave Creek 85331, USA | Registered: 17 August 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I've been seating 75gr HPBT to 2.255 with no problems. Accurate and feeds through the mags with no problems. I should also say that 2.255 just makes it into the mag.