New
Find
Notify
Tools

7mm mag with barnes bullets
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am new to reloading and just picked up the barnes reloading #3 manual. Can u guys give me you experiences with the barnes bullets? is it worth switching from nosler partition factory loads? I wanna shoot 160gr. pills, and my range will be no more then 250yds. How do they work with close shots 50yds or less? Is accuracy good? wich bellet, X or XLC? If u could answer any of these questions it would very much appreciated. thanx

P.S. I was given some imr4064 and reloader22. Any of these good in the 7mag??

one of us
posted Hide Post
Reloader 22 is a good choice for the 7mm, but not the 4064.

Posts: 3097 | Location: Louisiana | Registered: 28 November 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
redneck7mm,

Barnes X bullets can present some difficulties with getting accuracy and are probably not ideal for someone new to reloading.

If I was going to use Barnes X in 7mm I would probably go for 140 grains rather than the 160s.

4064 is not at all suitable for full powered loads in the 7mm Rem.

Mike

Posts: 7206 | Location: Sydney, Australia | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I use the 160 grain "X" bullets in my 7mm WEatherby mag.I tried the "XLC" bullets and they would not group in my gun.Reloader 22 is a good powder for the 7mm,but mine shoots better with Reloader 25 with the 160 grain bullet.

Posts: 507 | Location: Rogersville ,tn,usa | Registered: 06 August 2001Reply With Quote
<Don Krakenberger>
posted
What game animal are you after--pick the bullet based on the animal and the hunting conditions. TEll us more please.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Sorry guys, i plan on hunting whitetail and black bear. mabe elk sometime when i get out west.

one of us
Picture of ricciardelli
posted Hide Post
RL-22 is excellent for the 7mm Mag...however, I have never managed to have Barnes bullets shoot as well as run of the mill Sierra or Hornady...