Find
Notify
Tools

Crimping 450 3-1/4 NE
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of robncolorado
posted
Hey all- I’m a fairly experienced reloader with a bunch of tapered shoulder calibers, but am now reloading for my 450 3-1/4” NE. Obviously a straight wall case. I think I’ve got the case flairing understood, so next is bullet seating and crimp. I’m using Hornady Standard seating die. There’s not much I’ve found on YouTube, etc. so looking for some guidance before I move forward.The crimp is what’s got me a bit stuck. Thanks!

Posts: 563 | Location: Durango, CO | Registered: 18 July 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Rapidrob
posted Hide Post
I've been reloading for 58 years now. I shoot long range every Saturday of the year except two for holidays.
I crimp all of my center fire loads.
The reason is straight forward. As the primer fires, its gasses move the whole powder charge up against the base of the bullet and the bullet starts to move forward, this causes the volumetric area in the case and the in the chamber. this of course will effect accuracy and chamber pressures.
Now a crimp on the bullet should be strong enough to withstand the primers force and not move. This for most cartridges is 30 pounds of pulling force. I built a device for my COAX press that can, for set up, measure the pulling force.
This crimp does not damage the bullet in any way.

Gulf of Tonkin Yacht Club
NRA Endowment Member
President NM MILSURPS

Posts: 448 | Location: Albuquerque | Registered: 28 March 2013Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
What is the real question? Crimping is the same as bottleneck, if that is what you mean by tapered shoulder. Your brass has to be all the same length, and your bullets have to have a crimp groove.
Don't try for too much because you can buckle the case. Same for any caliber.

Posts: 17260 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of robncolorado
posted Hide Post
quote: