New
Find
Notify
Tools

6.5-284 and Barnes TSX
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Does anyone have experience reloading Barnes TSX or TTSX bullets for the 6.5-284 Norma? Looking for recommendations for powder, amount, bullet clearance, resulting long range accuracy.

You'll notice this is an uncommon combination: many who reload for this caliber use a match target bullet. I want to use a top quality hunting bullet with this caliber. I have a lot of Barnes reloading experience in other calibers, but none for this combination. Any advice you can give would be appreciated.

Posts: 59 | Location: New England | Registered: 02 November 2010Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Fjold
posted Hide Post
I use the 120 grain TSX loaded .047" off the lands with 49.3 grains H4350 powder. I worked up this load and it is safe in my gun, work up slowly to that in yours, if you want to try it.

It shoots little groups and coincidently .5" right at 100 yards of my match load using the 142 grain SMK.

Frank

"I don't know what there is about buffalo that frightens me so.....He looks like he hates you personally. He looks like you owe him money."
- Robert Ruark, Horn of the Hunter, 1953

NRA Life, SAF Life, CRPA Life, DRSS lite

Posts: 12608 | Location: Kentucky, USA | Registered: 30 December 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Jackal, if your new 6.5-284 is a top of the line customer build (as they often are), may I suggest the 120gr Nosler Ballistic Tip. It's designed as a hunting bullet, but outshoots the target bullets in more then on of my custom rigs.

Posts: 3034 | Location: Colorado | Registered: 01 July 2010Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post